Broken Consort

A 'broken consort' is an ensemble made up of instruments from more than one family, for example, a group featuring both string and wind instruments.

Friday 13 July 2012

Concert - 12th July

We enjoyed a wonderful evening of music making last night at our summer concert. Our audience was rather 'select', but appreciative nonetheless - thank you to those of you who braved the monsoon like conditions to support us! If you weren't there, here's what we played:


'Olympic Fanfare & Theme' – John Williams (Arr. H. Brammer)
The Broken Consort

'Serenade' – Derek Bourgeios (Arr. H. Brammer)
The Broken Consort

'Conversations 1, 2 & 3' for Two Flutes – Richard Rodney Bennett
Penny Layland & Judy Skelton (Flutes)

'Andante & Allegro' from Sonata in G major – Fasch
Heather Loebl & Helen Brammer (Flutes); Imogen Locke (Treble Recorder); Margaret Willson ('Cello) & Joan Goodall (Piano)

'Allegro' (from Sonata K279) – Mozart (Arr. James 'Red' McLeod)
Helen Brammer, Theresa Hitching & Dermot Stone (Clarinets)

'Valse Harmonique' – Simon Ballard
Heather Loebl (Flute; Helen Brammer (Clarinet); & Angela Ayton (Piano)

'Adagio & Rigadon' from Sonata in D minor – Schickhardt
Judy Skelton (Flute); Diana Locke (Tenor Recorder); Kath Russell (Violin); Mike Winterburn (Bassoon); & Angela Ayton (Piano)

'The Witches Frolic' – Granville Bantock
Margaret Willson ('Cello); Mike Winterburn (Bassoon); & Helen Brammer (Bass Clarinet)

'Allegro moderato' from Sonata in Bb major – Janitsch
Penny Layland (Flute); Annabel Crowe (Oboe); Polly Kaufmann (Viola); & Imogen Locke (Piano)

Tarantelle Italienne – Léon d'Ourville
Angela Ayton & Imogen Locke (Piano)

'Crown Imperial' – William Walton (Arr. H. Brammer)
The Broken Consort

There was, of course, an after concert party where much delicious food was consumed - thanks to our hosts Angela and Mike for a lovely end to the evening.

I filmed the concert, and have already edited some of the footage and uploaded it to our YouTube channel, the rest will be added over the next few days - I'll post a message on here once they've all been uploaded.

No comments: