Broken Consort

A 'broken consort' is an ensemble made up of instruments from more than one family, for example, a group featuring both string and wind instruments.

Friday 3 August 2012

Summer Music @ Heather's

We had our first 'Summer Music' session of the holiday last night, hosted by Heather. It was a lovely evening, and we entertained Heather's neighbours with a selection of some of our old favourites...picked at random. Here's what we played:
  • 'Allegro Assai' from 'Brandenburg Concerto No.2' by J S Bach
  • 'Hallelujah Chorus' from 'The Messiah' by Handel
  • 'Folksongs from Somerset' from 'English Folksong Suite by Vaughan Williams
  • 'Wedding Day at Troldhaugen' by Grieg
  • 'Sicilienne' by Faure
  • 'Romance' from 'Eine Kleine Nachtmusik'by Mozart
  • 'Chanson de Nuit' by Elgar
  • 'Overture' to Suite in B minor by J S Bach
  • 'Alla hornpipe' from 'The Water Music' by Handel
  • Overture to 'The Marriage of Figaro' by Mozart
After the music making, there was of course some food and drink to be enjoyed...a most delicious spread! You can see the aftermath in this panoramic photo below:

(Click the photo for a better view)

Thank you to Heather for a wonderful evening...I can confirm that you will recieve a 5* rating!

PS - I have updated the dates for next term on the 'Term Dates' page (click the tab at the top of the page to view).

No comments: