Broken Consort

A 'broken consort' is an ensemble made up of instruments from more than one family, for example, a group featuring both string and wind instruments.

Friday 31 August 2012

Summer Music @ Judy's

We had our last summer music session of the year last night, at Judy's new house. I think she must have chosen it for the lovely large room we had to play in, which was just as well as there was rather a lot of us to accommodate! In keeping with tradition, we each selected a piece to play at random, from our ever-increasing libray!

Here's what we played:
  • 'Allegro Assai' from Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 by J.S. Bach
  • 'Andante' from Symphony No. 94  ('Surprise') by Haydn
  • 'Hallelujah Chorus' from 'The Messiah' by Handel
  • 'Romance' from 'Eine Kleine Nachtmusik' by Mozart
  • 'My Bonny Boy' from 'Folk Song Suite' by Vaughan Williams
  • 'Mesto' from 'English Dances' by Malcolm Arnold
  • 'Marche Militaire' by Schubert
  • 'Toccata' from 'Pulcinella' by Stravinsky
  • 'Rondo' from 'Eine Kleine Nachtmusik' by Mozart
  • 'Scilienne' by Faure
  • 'The Ashokan Farewell' by Jay Ungar
  • 'Allegro risoluto' from 'English Dances' by Malcolm Arnold
  • Overture to 'The Marriage of Figaro' by Mozart
And after all that lot, we had earned our feast! Thank you to Judy for hosting a most enjoyable evening!

A quick reminder before I go, that our new term begins on Thursday 20th September.

No comments: